BHBC Review – “Touch & Go” by: Lisa Gardner

A description of the book, thanks to Amazon.com:

This is my family:  Vanished without a trace…

Justin and Libby Denbe have the kind of life that looks good in the pages of a glossy magazine. A beautiful fifteen-year old daughter, Ashlyn. A gorgeous brownstone on a tree-lined street in Boston’s elite Back Bay neighborhood. A great marriage, admired by friends and family.  A perfect life.

This is what I know:  Pain has a flavor…

When investigator Tessa Leoni arrives at the crime scene in the Denbes’ home, she finds scuff marks on the floor and Taser confetti in the foyer.  The family appears to have been abducted, with only a pile of their most personal possessions remaining behind.  No witnesses, no ransom demands, no motive.  Just an entire family, vanished without a trace.

This is what I fear:  The worst is yet to come…

Tessa knows better than anyone that even the most perfect façades can hide the darkest secrets.  Now she must race against the clock to uncover the Denbes’ innermost dealings, a complex tangle of friendships and betrayal, big business and small sacrifices.  Who would want to kidnap such a perfect little family?  And how far would such a person be willing to go?

This is the truth:  Love, safety, family…it is all touch and go.

This is the first book by Lisa Gardner that I have read and will certainly not be the last! I could not put it down (and that doesn’t happen often for me!). I enjoy reading true crime books and this reminded me of that genre except (obviously) not real. Lisa grabbed my attention from the very beginning and left me asking questions and wanting to know more… How does an entire family of 3 get kidnapped? Why are they kidnapped? How come the kidnapper(s) don’t kill them? Although I think some disagree, I was left not knowing or really even suspecting who was the mastermind behind things until almost the near end.

The book was written from the prospective of two different characters which make the story more interesting but yet still easy to follow. An added plus for me was the fact that the book took place in the Boston area and other parts of New England. Having grown up in New Hampshire and law school in Boston, I found myself picturing each and every place Lisa described.

I can’t wait to read more of her books! Join the conversation over at BlogHer this month!

Disclosure: This is a paid review for BlogHer Book Club but the opinions expressed are my own.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “BHBC Review – “Touch & Go” by: Lisa Gardner

  1. I needed a new book to read and like Lisa Gardner…I’ll have to check this one out!

  2. Oooooh this sounds SO good!! I’ll be reading this!

Leave a Reply

