People Aren’t Always Who They Seem

I’ve been on LiveJournal since 2002 and, for the most part, have always been private/friend’s only. It was an easier way to post personally since I knew who was reading. But after this past Friday, I wonder how well I “know” the people reading.

On Friday, I learned that a girl I had been following and talking with a lot on Twitter was not who she said she was. She had basically created a fake version of herself. She claimed she was originally from Michigan and moved to NYC and now worked as an attorney with the DA’s office here. Turned out none of that was true. In actuality, she’s a college student in Michigan. That’s it. Not an attorney, not living in NYC, among other things. She claimed she eloped on vacation recently, had a closet anyone would be jealous of, went on vacation all the time. She created a whole different person of herself. Another Twitter friend posted a blog post detailing a bit more about the situation – you can read it here.

While I felt a little stupid to fall for someone like this, in NYC, anything’s possible so I never doubted what she said. Luckily, I had only started talking to her a month or two ago. She was also on LiveJournal and part of a community on there for 5+ years, including being a moderator/administrator of the community. She developed friendships with a bunch of girls on there for years. And none of it was real. It really made me think about how much I put out there on the internet. Someone on LiveJournal could be fake and I’d likely never know it.

What’s so bizarre is this all came up right as I decided to start a public, non-LiveJournal blog. Man, talk about creating some doubts now! Part of me fears running into people like this again now. Instead I’m going to continue giving people the benefit of the doubt. Maybe it’s being naive or stupid, but I’d like to think this girl was a one in a million and everyone else I encounter online is in fact real. I guess I’m just going to proceed with caution instead?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “People Aren’t Always Who They Seem

  1. DottieDags

    That’s slightly crazy! You should rent Catfish if you haven’t seen it. I think most people are who they seem and there’s just a slight group of them with enough crazy to fake a persona. There were probably red flags here & there that you just didn’t pay much attention to. I don’t understand the point of faking a life / personality. Who has that kind of time?!

    • Live Love Loans

      It’s funny you recommend that movie because the person who’s blog post I linked to tweeted the day after this whole “fake friend” thing that he had watched Catfish. I had NO idea it was about the same type of story.

      I think I didn’t know her long enough to notice any red flags really (only 2 months). The people who had befriended her on LJ had a lot longer time to notice them. But it really is bizarre that someone would go to so much trouble to create a fake life for themselves. So weird.

    • Live Love Loans

      I just read the Wikipedia page for Catfish and requested it from the NY public library. Can’t believe I had never heard of it before!

  2. I know we talked about this, but definitely don’t feel like you’re the only one who has gotten duped… it’s happened to a few of us. I’ve had a blogger I liked be outed as a fake before too!

    Still super weird though!

Leave a Reply

