Family Gift Ideas

How many of you still get birthday gifts for your parents? What about Mother’s/Father’s Day gifts?

J’s family isn’t really a gift-giving family so he doesn’t do either. I still do both. Mother’s Day is beginning to turn into a flowers holiday which my mom likes (I think?) since she doesn’t usually get flowers. But when it comes to birthdays, and even Christmas, I’m at a loss for ideas a lot of the time. With Christmas, it’s a little easier because I can straight out ask for ideas. But it’s harder with birthdays since they usually sneak up on me.

This year I went the online ordering route and decided to get my Mom something kinda NYC-related.

Ideas I considered?


Garrett Popcorn
While delicious fresh and warm, I wasn’t sure how it would be via mail. And while delicious period, it’s pricey. 1 gallon tins range from $25-59 but you can’t get mixed flavors at this size. 2 gallon tins range from $46-82 and you can get split tins (aka half caramel, half cheese OR divided in thirds). Add $9.95 shipping for either size (3.5 gallon and bigger cost more to ship) and before you know it you’re spending a pretty penny! Not to say my Mom isn’t worth it but for popcorn?


Junior’s Cheesecake
Similar issue as Garrett Popcorn. While definitely tasty, cheesecake is far from cheap. And I don’t think my Mom is a huge cheesecake fan. So I looked into ordering but nixed the idea anyways. Prices start around $32.95 for an 8″ cheesecake. All sorts of flavors are available too but some come at a price. Some options: $42.95 for Strawberry Cheesecake, $32.95 for Raspberry Swirl, $36.95 for an 8″ Sampler (plain, raspberry swirl, chocolate ganache, cherry crumb), $39.95 for Devil’s Food. You get the idea… Again, 2-day shipping is $11 for one cake, $18 for two. So the price adds up.


Cannoli’s from Caffe Palermo in Little Italy
Caffe Palermo is mine and J’s bakery of choice in Little Italy. We’ve taken my parents there before. And really, who doesn’t love cannoli’s?! If you’re ever in NYC, you must look them up! Or if you live here, try them next time you’re in Little Italy! They have a big sign over the front door that says “Best Cannoli on Planet Earth”. (Reminds me of the scene in Elf where he sees the sign in front of this little restaurant that says “World’s Best Cup of Coffee” – you can watch it here – LOVE that movie!) Anyways, I was excited to see they offered ordering. But by phone. And I’m lazy. And was trying to order her gift over the weekend. So I passed on that one.

As you can see, shipping ended up being a big expense. I tried signing up for online newsletters since some companies give you an immediate discount just for signing up but no luck there.

So, what did I end up getting her?

I went off the Garrett Popcorn idea. My parents sent me popcorn tins from The Popcorn Factory (btw, for a little care package gift, it’s really good and not super expensive!) in college and law school but I wanted something NYCish, if possible. So I took to Google. Because really, what CAN’T you find via Google these days?!

Enter Dale and Thomas’ Popcorn – straight out of NJ and according to The Today Show, “The Rolls Royce of Popcorn”. Now, I haven’t tried it first hand but it seemed to be a safe gamble and they had some awesome popcorn flavors! They have popcorn tins (like Garrett and The Popcorn Factory) but I opted for their “6 Bag Sampler”:

Each box includes 6 foot-long sized bags of popcorn and each bag serves approximately 2-4 people. Four different flavor combos are available (view website for list of flavors included with each combo): Country Munchy, Simply Scrumptious, Chocolate Overload and This and That. And, you can also select a “Sampler” with special packaging including birthday, thank you, congratulations, holiday-specific (Easter is currently available), anniversary and welcome themes.

We’ll see what she thinks!!

Do you still get your parent’s birthday gifts? If so, what do you get them? Do you ask them for ideas or come up with them on your own? Share your ideas!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

