Attempted Fashion

The legal profession is not exactly known as the most fashionable of professions. In fact, most corporate-type occupations are limited when it comes to fashion.

For me, I have to wear nylons/pantyhose/tights from Labor Day to Memorial Day, give or take. Basically, I wear them until it gets too hot outside to be comfortable. Unless I’m going to Court for something important. And then they usually come right off afterwards. 😉 So fashionable = patterned tights in the winter. I know, very adventurous. But there’s only so much you can do. How fashionable can a suit really be? Although I must admit, I do have some cute suits!

Today I was in Court, as usual. It was a more informal appearance so I decided to wear a black dress in honor of the warm weather. I tried to find a picture online but no luck. I bought it at Ann Taylor Loft back in November 2008 and it’s the perfect work-appropriate “little black dress”. It’s sleeveless, slightly scoop neck and pencil style and came with a skinny black belt around the waist. I’ve worn it with a slightly form-fitting button down underneath, a short sleeve turtleneck, or with a cardigan over itwhen it’s warmer out.

I thought the “cardigan over” would work today since the temperature was suppose to get into the high 70s (not that I usually get outside to feel it). Except it wasn’t the best choice for Court since my appearance may have needed a little more interaction than normal. Back to the closet I went and I came up with a single-button black blazer that I haven’t worn in forever. It’s on the longer side and not exactly a “go to” item. Today I decided to try and get a little more adventurous… I cuffed the sleeves to create more of the “boyfriend blazer” look. Like this:

Mine wasn’t patterned inside the sleeves, just black, but I think it worked. Despite the almost head to toe black, I liked it. I’m usually into color so it was a little dark for me. But I think I might try the blazer again sometime with skinny jeans or something. I was a little excited for myself since I don’t usually go out on a limb when it comes to fashion. I tend to stick with what I know (or think) works. Ask J. When we met in school, I lived in zip up hoodies. No matter what I had on, 9 times out of 10 there was a zip up hoodie with me. Post-law school I graduated (no pun intended) into cardigans. I have been known to wear cardigans every single day. Usually without realizing it either. I don’t change up my accessories much. It can get a little boring. I’ve been trying to add little things here and there: a different necklace or earrings, patterned tights… At least until my wallet allows for purchasing more expensive (I use that term loosely) items.

I admit, I don’t have the best “fashion” foresight. Luckily, there are other people out there who DO have a great eye towards fashion! A couple of my frequently read fashion blogs:

Corporette – geared towards young professional women and focuses on fashion and lifestyle. Features daily clothing items along with “Splurge Monday”, “Bargain Friday”, “Suit of the Week” and “Coffee Break” (accessories)

Blog Fashion – Londyn posts pictures of her daily outfits along with variations on the same pieces (worn during different seasons, with different accessories, etc.)

Wardrobe Oxygen – Alison posts pictures of her daily outfits along with great “how to”/”Ask Allie” and other informative posts. Not all of her outfits work in the more corporate world but they give me great ideas for my own wardrobe!

What are your personal fashion tips? Do you accessorize, buy new “in season” items? How do you make your wardrobe work for you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

