Ten on Tuesday – #9

Ten on Tuesday (on Wednesday – since that’s how this week is going!)

Hosted by Chelsea, questions for this week were provided by Chelsea:

1. What temperature do you keep your thermostat on during the day?
Well, first, I’d need to have a thermostat… Can’t remember the last time I lived in an apartment that had one? It was pre-J so 5 years ago? Our first apartment together in Boston had hot water radiator type heat. There was a valve we could close to limit how much steam (aka heat) was let out. But that was it. Every apartment we’ve lived in since moving to the NYC-area has had hotel-style heat/AC. Basically a wall unit that is either high heat, low heat, high AC, low AC, high fan, low fan or off. Those were the only options. Not exactly ideal either. Our current apartment is terribly insulated so most of the year it’s either really hot or freezing. Last winter I slept in long sleeves, sweatshirt, pants and at least one pair of socks. Sometimes two. And usually still froze in bed. You’re all just dying to come sleep over, aren’t you?! So truthfully, even if I had a thermostat, I don’t have the slightest clue what I’d set it at.

2. What temperature do you keep your thermostat on at night?
See above answer 😉

3. In a canister of mixed nuts, do you pick out certain varieties and leave the others?
I don’t choose mixed nuts for that very reason… And also for allergy reasons. (which luckily aren’t life threatening allergies). But if I had a canister of mixed nuts, and no one else to eat my least liked kinds, I’d probably eat them all so they wouldn’t go to waste.

4. What is your favorite kind of M&M?
Yum!! All of them?! Seriously, there are so many awesome kinds these days! Friends of ours work for Mars and use to be in the candy division (now they’re in pet food) so we’d get to try new M&Ms before they even hit the market which was cool. Not sure I can pick one favorite… Peanut butter, coconut, pretzel are all good!

5. How do you buy books? (Amazon, bookstore, new, used, electronic, etc)
I usually borrow them from the NY public library. If I buy, I try to find them used and cheap which is usually online. If I can’t wait then I’ll buy them new locally. No e-reader yet… Hopefully soon??

6. How do you like your eggs cooked?
Depends how I’m eating them. Alone for breakfast = scrambled or omelet. Breakfast sandwich = over hard/fried. Lunch sandwich (aka egg salad) or alone = hard boiled.

7. Can you whistle?
Kinda. I’m not very good at it though.

8. What common word do you always misspell?
Maintenance – not sure why but it’s a toughie for me! Awkward use to be another one – I always wanted to put a “c” in there (ackward).

9. Are you afraid of flying?
Not really. Doesn’t phase me.

10. How often do you go shopping?
Surprisingly not very. J and I are very controlled with our spending and hardly ever just “shop” without a purpose. My savings account appreciates it 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

