Thirty Things

Glamour just came out with a new book titled 30  Things Every Woman Should Have and Should Know by the Time She’s 30:

And while I have about a year and a half to go before I turn the big dirty 30, I thought it’d be interesting to see how I was doing on the list.

By 30, you should have:

1. One old boyfriend you can imagine going back to and one who reminds you of how far you’ve come.
Well, seeing as I’m married, I won’t be going back to any old boyfriends. However, looking back at the exes, there is one that might still fit the mold. We were just too young to be together (and that serious) at the time. Unfortunately, there’s more than one old boyfriend to remind me of how far I’ve come. But that’s life – you live and learn!

2. A  decent piece of furniture not previously owned by anyone else in your  family.
We replaced almost all of our furniture within a year or so of moving out here. I don’t really know what’s considered “decent” though. I think it all depends on one’s taste.

3. Something perfect to wear if the employer or man of your dreams wants to see you in an hour.
I think I’ve got something… I have a classic little black dress which would fit the bill. It looks similar to this but scoops a little lower in the front and has a thin belt around the waist.

4. A purse, a suitcase, and an umbrella you’re not ashamed to be seen carrying.

5. A youth you’re content to move beyond.
Absolutely. It’s a part of me and who I am but I have no need to relive it.

6. A past juicy enough that you’re looking forward to retelling it in  your old age.
There are parts of my past that are juicy enough to retell. And parts that are not to be retold!

7. The realization that you are actually going to have an old age—and some money set aside to help fund it.
I joke that my husband and I are squirrel-ers but really, we are. We are savers. Not to the extreme where we have a rigid budget or anything. But we don’t buy breakfast, coffee or lunch during the week. I rarely shop for clothes. We do go out to dinner about once a week. And we love concerts, sporting events and to travel. But we are extremely determined to one day own in Manhattan. And we’re about halfway there. We still live off the same salaries as when we moved here nearly 4 years ago (despite earning more).

8. An email address, a voice  mailbox, and a bank account—all of which nobody has access to but you.
I feel like this one is a little dated… Might have applied when this list was first created but today everyone has all of those. But the whole “nobody has access to but you”? Doesn’t really apply. What’s mine is J’s and vice versa. All bank accounts are joint. He knows most of my passwords because I have nothing to hide.

9. A  résumé that is not even the slightest bit padded.

10. One friend who always makes you laugh and one who lets you cry.
This is probably not the “right” answer but for me, it’s J. He can make me laugh, he can let me cry. Tell me when I’m in the wrong or totally right. Yes I have girlfriends that make me laugh but he’s my permanent shoulder to cry on. Well, unless I’m crying about him 😛

11. A set of screwdrivers, a  cordless drill, and a black lace bra.
So I’ve got two of the three down. Want to guess which one I don’t have? The black lace bra. I have a black bra, I have bras with lace. But none black AND lace. But hey, I got screwdrivers and a cordless drill!

12. Something ridiculously expensive  that you bought for yourself, just because you deserve it.
Truthfully, I can’t think of anything. I’m not one to go out and just buy “ridiculously expensive” items. (And now I have a husband who can do that for me!)

13. The belief that you deserve it.

14. A skin-care regimen, an exercise routine, and a plan for dealing with those few facets of life that don’t get better after 30.
Working on this… The skin-care is slowly getting there. Exercise varies – I know what I like and don’t like, just need a little extra time to do it! And those facets of life that don’t get better? Well, that’s just part of life!

15. A solid start on a satisfying career, a satisfying relationship, and all those other facets of life that do get better.
Finally got a start on the satisfying career. Absolutely satisfied in my relationship! And everything else? If I’m not satisfied, it will always get better.

By 30, you should know:
1. How to fall in love without losing yourself.

2. How you feel about having kids.
Only real undecided part is the number. We’ll either be “one and done” or two. Have to wait and see I guess.

3. How to quit a job, break up with a man, and confront a friend without ruining the friendship.
Quit my first big girl job almost 3 months ago! As in, I’m going elsewhere and not, I’m graduating/moving/etc.

4. When to try harder and when to walk away.

5. How to kiss in a way that communicates perfectly what you would and wouldn’t like to happen next.

6. The names of the secretary of state, your great-grandmothers, and the best tailor in town.
Ms. Hilary. I’ve only known one Great Grandma – Ann. And I don’t know my tailors name (she knows mine though!) but I know where to find her!

7. How to live alone, even if you don’t like to.
Been there, done that – I truly lived alone my first year of law school. And technically my second year but J and I were dating then so he was over a bit. I didn’t mind living alone one bit!

8.  Where to go—be it your best friend’s kitchen table or a yoga mat—when your soul needs soothing.

9. That you can’t change the length of your legs, the width of your hips, or the nature of your parents.
Some days I totally get it. Other days it’s a work in progress. Oh to be female…

10. That your childhood may not have been perfect, but it’s over.
Amen! And I wouldn’t be where I am today otherwise.

11. What you would and wouldn’t do for money or love.
I’d do anything for love, but I won’t do that? Oh Meatloaf.

12. That nobody gets away with smoking, drinking, doing drugs, or not flossing for very long.

13. Who you can trust, who you can’t and why you shouldn’t take it personally

14. Not to apologize for something that isn’t your fault.
And learning to apologize when it IS your fault!

15. Why they say life begins at 30!
Still have a year and a half to go but so far, life has been good 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

