Commuting with Tourists

Starting this post the same way I did the last one… Creative, I know.

For those of you who follow me on Twitter (if not, you should! – @LindsayInNYC), you know I have a lengthy commute to work. On average, it takes me about an hour and a half one way. I take three different forms of transit – PATH, Subway and Metro North. In addition, not only is it long, it takes me through two of New York City’s top travelled areas: World Trade Center and Grand Central Station. You know what that means – LOTS and LOTS of people. Especially tourists. Some days I avoid them based on the time I’m commuting but some days I’m not so lucky.

Wouldn’t this be nice?!

(Source)

I’ve been trying to tweet happy, positive things lately and not let the daily grind affect me as much. I have a bad habit of taking things home with me and I’m trying to stop.

But, today, when I opened my Google Reader and saw this post from Blair’s Head Band, I just had to share. Because she honestly read my mind and took the words right out of my mouth.

So, here, fellow readers and commuters in metropolitan areas, please go read her latest post: NYC Summer Tourists (the gifs make it that much better!). You won’t regret it, I promise.

(Source)

A couple to add?:

– Large groups (I’m looking at you schools, day cares, camps, any sort of field trips), if your day is going to start or end in the middle of rush hour (particularly in a high traffic area like Grand Central), move out of the flow of traffic. Anywhere else really. Especially don’t stand in front of the turnstiles or Metrocard machines.

– This is a complicated one, bear with me. Stand on the right, walk on the left. Get it? Told ya it was complicated.

(Source)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Commuting with Tourists

  1. I completely agree. Just remember that when you glare and pass by them in an angry huff, headphones in and elbows out, they get the authentic experience of seeing a real New Yorker in its natural habitat.

    Props to you and your commute–I’d surely need some breathing exercises to calm me through that on a daily basis!

    • Haha, quite true! Some days I feel bad when I get all attitude-y with someone and then they’re nice back. So I try to take the nice approach first, if I can 😉

      The commute is worth it to not be miserable at work… I know once we move into the city, it’ll get better for me (but lengthen his in the process!) so I just keep reminding myself of that!

  2. I used to commute to Grand Central and worked in Times Square… it was just awful especially in the summer!! I really wish their was a separate path for tourists like that picture, haha.
    PS – Yes, you need to upgrade to the space saving hangers!! They are everyone now that it’s back to school time. You will make so much more use of your space, more clothes!

Leave a Reply

